The Ascendant – Who´s behind that face?

ascendenten

In my Astrology class Virgo ascendant is the most common ascendant. Not so surprising because Leo, Virgo and Libra I think if I remember correct is the most common ascendants in Sweden.
My teacher told us that Virgo ascendants often get the role as the “good girl” or boy in the family and life. That is so true in my case! And I almost got irritated now when I got this verified. Haha. Because for me it feels like I didn´t choose this! – But many Astrologers believe that we choose our parents our self before we are born, and then I´m thinking that it might as well be so that we choose our ascendant and our whole horoscope then also! Or…maybe we get a particular ascendant because we have chosen to achieve something particular in this life. I see the ascendant as a tool in our personality. Because It´s the way people see us and the lens through which we see the world. (ref. the ascendant: Your karmic doorway) We can´t get rid of our ascendant no matter how strong our sun sign is!  If we would like to get rid of it..
How one feels about their ascendant is probably very individual, but for me I´ve felt that it sometimes is standing in the way for my sun. I know this is just an illusion and that I´ve probably just haven’t learned how I can have use of my ascendant in the best way. I´m sure there is a reason and purpose with every single part of the horoscope. For me it feels like the ascendant is a filter in front of the sun. Probably the secret is to integrate the sun and the ascendant in a balanced way, so that they can have use of each other.
The ascendant still have something of a mystery fog surrounding it. And different astrologers have different opinions about it – what it stands for.
Yes for me it often feels like my Virgo ascendant is standing in the way for my Gemini sun. But there are also times when I appreciate to hide behind my Virgo face. I think it’s the Virgo ascendant people see when they describe me as mysterious…something that my Gemini sun is laughing at and calls ridiculous. The Gemini sun is not mysterious at all! – rather it would like to say what´s on its mind all the time! But the Virgo face is standing in the way!:P Not always but many times.

What do you think about this? Is there anybody else out there who´ve also had problems dealing with their ascendant? Do you think your ascendant and sun sign are well integrated?
In the next post I will tell you more about how it feels to be “the good girl” and the achiever. ;) – Virgo ascendant

12 thoughts on “The Ascendant – Who´s behind that face?

  1. Great post!

    I’m Gemini with a Cancer ASC. My ASC is standing in the way of my SUN, and my SUN is in the 12th house.

    I also laugh when people refer to me as nice, motherly, nurturing, and unassuming. My ASC face is standing in the way, and people are shocked when I become fed up, and there is an explosion of frustration that ends the relationship(s). But, happy-go-lucky Gemini, as friendly as I am, does not care because I’ve had enough!

    As I’ve become older, my SUN is shining brighter because I’ve had enough of protecting, rescuing, sob stories, lame ducks, and the walking wounded, etc. So, now I can choose to listen, or walk away, without becoming overwhelmed with compassion for adult drama. An astrologer once told me that, “you can move on and never look back!” She’s right!

    Speaking of integrating the SUN and ASC, I was advised to write for children and/or become a teacher for middle-grade children. This would certainly satisfy the Gemini childlike nature, and the nurturing of the Cancer ASC. Working with animals is also an option.

    NAMASTE’

  2. Haha! I think I love you! :D You are so funny!! Ever thought about becoming a Comedian then? – a little bit of black Saturnian humour ;)
    Yes I can imagine this happens to you when you are a Cancer ascendant! Actually I just met a guy who´s Cancer ascendant :D.
    Virgo is also quite heavy :S The worst is that you always get stucked doing the hardest job, working the hardest..and listening to other peoples complainments…the psychiatrist :D I like those things often, but you can also get exploited…
    Thanks for your comment!

  3. Yes, sometimes I do have problems with clicking on the messages button, or when I respond and press “reply”, it takes forever, or doesn’t register.

    Speaking of humor, I used to work for an attorney whose mantra was, I DON’T CARE!”

    I try to keep my sense of humor because it motivates me to continue on a path that sometimes I don’t understand, yet, keep going. Sometimes life can appear ridiculous, and tear us apart, or motivate us to keep going, and become better.

    Do you believe in angels?

    Keep up the good posts, and hang in there!

    • Hehe..the attorney…he didn´t care about what you said, is that what he meant? Hmm…angels..maybe, I don´t know if I believe in the classical ones with wings but I think there might be some people watching over us.
      Did you say that you have the sun in 12th house? You don´t have contact with your father then huh? Dead, or he wasn´t present? Now I am very direct, you don´t have to answer :)
      Thanks! I will try to continue with good posts :D

  4. “For me it feels like the ascendant is a filter in front of the sun. Probably the secret is to integrate the sun and the ascendant in a balanced way, so that they can have use of each other.”

    I couldn’t agree more! I’ve been thinking a lot about how exactly to integrate the two with myself. It seems like it might be a very long journey to really understand how to do that exactly though.

    I’m a Gemini with Scorpio rising – you could imagine the difficulties.. My Gemini sun just can’t quite seem to get used to the intensity of my ascendant. Sometimes I really feel like the Scorpio energy is like a thick veil that distorts the light of my sun, if that makes sense. It’s difficult to harness but gets easier with time.

    • :D My best friend is Gemini with Scorpio rising! She´s quite a original..;) but lovely :) She is very intense sometimes and her biggest passion is very weird and obscure horror movies. Her appartment is decorated with bloody filmposters. Does this sound familiar to you…? :D Haha…
      It makes all sense to me, what you are writing! The best is that we are already conscious about the difficulties! Imagine those poor people that don´t know about astrology…;)
      Thank you for your visit and comment! :)

  5. Yes! I`m also a Virgo Asc. My problem is that I`m also a Taurus and I`m like double-shy. I`m the lost puppy every single time I`m left with someone I do not know. It`s so weird cause my dominant planet is Mercury and I want to talk and need to talk (Venus in Gemini), but I`m too shy.

Leave a Reply

